dashes, Team Sky, Team Sky In Images, victory lines -

The idea behind Team Sky’s 2017 kit design

The 2017 jersey design brings a sort of British-Italian fusion. Designed by Richard Pearce and refined and implemented to cycling garments by Castelli’s senior designer Enrico Ubezio, the graphic celebrates the victories in Team Sky’s first 7 seasons. The classic Breton shirt served as inspiration but has been reimagined in a data pattern with each stripe on the jersey, short, mitts, socks and cap representing a specific Team Sky victory.


The longest lines are the 4 Tour de France victories, with Chris Froome’s 2016 victory immediately below the Sky logo on the chest. The short dashes represent one-day races, while the medium-length lines represent multiday stage races, with the number of stages determining the length of the line. WorldTour races are blue lines, while non-WorldTour races are white. Perhaps most significantly, the gaps represent the ambition for future victories. The front of the jersey is made up of victories by 2017 team members, with the exception of Sir Bradley Wiggins’ 2012 Tour win, which has a special place in Team Sky history.

The victory lines at the front of the jersey …


234. Tour de France, Chris Froome 220. Vuelta al Pais Vasco – Stage 2, Mikel Landa 223. Liege-Bastongne-Liege, Wout Poels 99. Tour of Britain – Stage 1, Luke Rowe 187. Giro d’Italia – Stage 2, Elia Viviani 163. Tour of Austria, Pete Kennaugh 228. Criterium du Dauphine, Chris Froome 225. Tour de Yorkshire – Stage 2, Danny van Poppel 207. Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race, Peter Kennaugh 114. Criterium International – Stage 3, Chris Froome 197. Tour de Pologne – Stage 6, Sergio Henao 222. Giro del Trentino, Mikel Landa 216. Paris-Nice, Geriant Thomas 167. Dubai Tour – Stage 2, Elia Viviani 151. Tour de Romandie, Chris Froome 148. Settimana Coppi e Bartali, Pete Kennaugh 242. Tour of Britain – Stage 3, Ian Stannard 68. Tour de Romandie – Prologue, Geraint Thomas 211. Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana – Stage 4, Wout Poels 136. Eneco Tour – Stage 6, David Lopez 218. E3 Harelbeke, Michal Kwiatkowski 107. Tour Of Oman, Chris Froome 199. Tour of Britain – Stage 1, Elia Viviani 173. Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, Ian Stannard 162. Tour of Austria – Stage 1, Peter Kennaugh 188. Giro d’Italia – Stage 14, Vasil Kiryienka 213. Herald Sun Tour, Chris Froome 217. Volta a Catalunya – Stage 5, Wout Poels 172. Volta ao Algarve, Geraint Thomas 212. Heral Sun Tour – Stage 4, Chris Froome 226. Giro d’Italia – Stage 13, Mikel Nieve 184. Tour de Romandie – Stage 1, Team Time Trial 241. Vuelta a Espana – Stage 11, Chris Froome 239. Arctic Race of Norway, Gianni Moscon




Photos: Edoardo Civiero, Russ Ellis and Beardy McBeard

Discover more:    Teamsky.com      Castelli-cycling.com/teamsky